Opened 9 years ago

Last modified 7 years ago

#10252 new enhancement

Edit Icon Theme - Restart to default after pidgin closed

Reported by: r5r4y Owned by: sadrul
Milestone: Patches welcome Component: plugins
Version: 2.6.4 Keywords: edit icon theme customize pidgin buddy list icons
Cc:

Description

Hello, i'm using pidgin 2.6.2 on ubuntu 9.04 with MSN protocol and ICQ protocol recently i've enabled the plugin called 'Pidgin Theme Editor' which have an option to edit the icon theme inside pidgin...

but when i'm closing pidgin and open it again after a while the icons are back to the default icon set...

i've tested this only with MSN protocol and ICQ protocol

Change History (10)

comment:1 Changed 9 years ago by r5r4y

  • Component changed from pidgin (gtk) to plugins

comment:2 Changed 9 years ago by r5r4y

  • Keywords edit icon theme customize pidgin buddy list icons added

comment:3 Changed 9 years ago by r5r4y

  • Version changed from 2.6.2 to 2.6.3

comment:4 Changed 9 years ago by darkrain42

  • Owner set to sadrul

This is expected; the plugin simply doesn't have "Save" functionality currently.

comment:5 Changed 9 years ago by r5r4y

OK, so when we can Save the theme with this plugin? Milestone?

comment:6 Changed 9 years ago by mark-t

So why is this plugin even included? It's pretty much useless if you can't save your changes.

comment:7 Changed 9 years ago by deryni

Perhaps because it is better than not having the start of one at all? Perhaps because this might invite someone to write the missing saving code? Perhaps because, if nothing else, it lets people play with status theme changes live more easily than otherwise and gives them an ability to see what sort of changes are possible? Or maybe just because this is how much of the plugin was written.

I agree it should likely not have been built by default, but it was.

comment:8 Changed 9 years ago by r5r4y

  • Version changed from 2.6.3 to 2.6.4

comment:9 Changed 8 years ago by sadrul

  • Milestone set to Patches welcome

comment:10 Changed 7 years ago by wwp

Same issue w/ 2.7.0-2fc11. I'm just amazed that such useful plugin is distributed whereas it doesn't save user prefs. There's not even a warning saying that spending 10min customizing the buddylist or iconslist prefs will be lost at next restart, wasted my time w/ that, not counting my deception. I don't want to offend, but this is an irritating issue, even from packagers who - no doubt - would not have included that plugin if they had tested its features.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.
All information, including names and email addresses, entered onto this website or sent to mailing lists affiliated with this website will be public. Do not post confidential information, especially passwords!