Prevent "typing notifications" before first message
|Reported by:||phq||Owned by:||EionRobb|
|Version:||2.6.2||Keywords:||typing notification privacy|
When I open a new window for a buddy and start typing most clients, including pidgin, start to send the "typing notifications" even though the receiving end usually won't use it.
There are however plugins that make use of this, such as the "Psychic Mode" plugin that open the chat window before the first message has arrived.
I suggest that when a chat window is newly opened and thus empty, no notifications will be sent until any end has sent a message. From a single client perspective, a newly opened window will not send any notifications until it has sent or received a message.
For most uses this will not change their chat experience.
The current behavior is a problem since it will send messages that most user is not aware of. This can thus be seen as a privacy problem. However most troublesome is when some users do get aware of it and start hesitate to even start typing, usually you could abort by simply closing the window, but with the current state the other end might already know that you did type and start asking questions.