Opened 11 years ago

Last modified 10 years ago

#4245 new defect

xmpp creates two buddies

Reported by: Cyber Dog Owned by: deryni
Milestone: Component: XMPP
Version: 2.3.0 Keywords:
Cc:

Description

I'm regularly connected to an xmpp network (google talk based) with Pidgin 2.3. People regularly request authorization to add, and a little window pops up at the bottom of the buddy list. Any time I select 'yes' for someone, Pidgin will automatically add them to a "Buddies" group on my list. This is very irritating in two situations:

  • I use custom groups, and if I choose 'Yes' to adding a new buddy to my list I put them directly under a custom group, but they *also* still wind up under Buddies. Why on earth would I want them added twice?
  • If I choose 'No' to adding the new buddy to my list, which I generally do for good reason (I may have hundreds of names available), pidgin will *still* add them as a Buddy. Why bother asking me if you're not going to listen?

Change History (5)

comment:1 Changed 11 years ago by deryni

If you authorize someone to add you to their list (and see your status) they need to be in your list, though you don't need to ask them for authorization to see their status (which is what pidgin asks you about adding the buddy for). That is just the way XMPP works, you will notice if you hover over a buddy you said 'no' for that the subscription will be 'From' as opposed to 'To' or 'Both'. As to the first issue, if you can post the debug log of the entire transaction here that will be useful (this is bug that keeps popping up despite a number of attempts at squashing it).

comment:2 Changed 11 years ago by Sim-on

  • Component changed from unclassified to XMPP
  • Owner changed from lschiere to nwalp

comment:3 Changed 11 years ago by deryni

  • Owner changed from nwalp to deryni

comment:4 Changed 10 years ago by deryni

  • Resolution set to duplicate
  • Status changed from new to closed

Closed as duplicate of #3455.

comment:5 Changed 10 years ago by deryni

  • Resolution duplicate deleted
  • Status changed from closed to new

Sorry, wrong ticket.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.
All information, including names and email addresses, entered onto this website or sent to mailing lists affiliated with this website will be public. Do not post confidential information, especially passwords!