Opened 10 years ago

Closed 10 years ago

Last modified 10 years ago

#9286 closed patch

Saved Statuses - "Modify..." button bug

Reported by: andrei_natanael Owned by:
Milestone: Component: pidgin (gtk)
Version: Keywords: modify saved statuses
Cc:

Description

If you go to "Saved Statuses", even if there isn't any status the Modify button is active. It should be disabled. If we select multiple statuses and hit Modify button and then we close Saved Statuses dialog without closing Status(editing) dialog and then we open again Saved Statuses dialog end modify a status message we get two instances of dialog for the same message(one opened previously and another being the last opened).

Attachments (3)

gtksavedstatus.c.diff (597 bytes) - added by andrei_natanael 10 years ago.
Screenshot-Saved_Statuses.png (20.2 KB) - added by andrei_natanael 10 years ago.
Modify button is active even witout a status in list
Screenshot.png (137.5 KB) - added by andrei_natanael 10 years ago.
Modify same message multiple times

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (8)

Changed 10 years ago by andrei_natanael

comment:1 Changed 10 years ago by deryni

  • Milestone set to Patches Needing Review

I don't see the modify-even-without-selection issue you say you are seeing, I do see the multiple dialogs issue (but I'm not sure how easy/reasonable it will be to do anything about that).

I don't think restricting Modify to when only one status is selected is a good idea, but I do think not letting people Modify the current status is a good idea (because it results in an entirely confusing outcome, the status selector shows the updated status message but it will not actually have been correctly set for the account).

Changed 10 years ago by andrei_natanael

Modify button is active even witout a status in list

Changed 10 years ago by andrei_natanael

Modify same message multiple times

comment:2 Changed 10 years ago by andrei_natanael

I think it's a logical bug to have Modify button enabled if there are no statuses. Modify button is active even witout a status in list You press it and it do nothing.

Another problem, as I reported you are allowed to edit same message multiple times, that's becuse you are allowed to edit multiple messages in same time, so disallowing multiple edits solve this problem. (See image evidencing the problem)

comment:3 Changed 10 years ago by deryni

  • Status changed from new to pending

I agree that isn't logical, however what I said is that I do not see that happening here. My Modify... button is correctly disabled in that case. What version of pidgin are you using?

And no, disabling the Modify... button when multiple statuses is selected has no bearing on being able to have multiple modify windows open for the same status.

Select two statuses, hit Modify..., get two modify status windows, go back to the Saved Statuses dialog, hit Modify... again, get the same two pre-existing dialogs refocused, close the Saved Statuses dialog, re-open Saved Statuses dialog, select a single status for which a window already exists, hit Modify..., get a duplicate window for that status. See? Multiple selection and duplicate windows are unrelated issues.

So I stand by thinking we need to disallow modification of the active status but do not need (or want) the multi-selection change.

The reason we get multiple windows for a given status when the Saved Statuses dialog has been closed in the middle is because we store the ID of the window in the Saved Statuses dialog tree store, so once the dialog is closed we 'forget' we had the window open. There are a number of ways this could potentially be solved, and a patch implementing a good one would likely be accepted.

comment:4 Changed 10 years ago by trac-robot

  • Status changed from pending to closed

This ticket was closed automatically by the system. It was previously set to a Pending status and hasn't been updated within 14 days.

comment:5 Changed 10 years ago by Robby

  • Milestone Patches Needing Review deleted
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.
All information, including names and email addresses, entered onto this website or sent to mailing lists affiliated with this website will be public. Do not post confidential information, especially passwords!